close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Back Home Again, In Indiana

Discussion in 'New User Introductions' started by Trumpetman, Jun 19, 2007.

1. I'm Greg Hodnett. I'm fairly new to hunting. My brother has been hunting for years, and he always wanted me to go with him. I was always "too busy." Then I moved away for 17 years. I came back to Hoosierland when I bacame sick and had to retire. I never learned to hunt until I was 49 years old. I'm 52 years old now. I move kind of slow, but I get the job done.

The reason I got started hunting is really bizzar. It started in April of 2004, when I was robbed at gunpoint. The bad guy robbed in my driveway, and took me inside my house to get all the money I had in there, including the money I kept for my mother, since I was taking care of her finances. Next, the robber tried to kidnap me in order to get at my bank account. That's when I made a break for it. My guardian angels were working overtime. At the exact moment the crook pulled the trigger, I fell. The 9MM bullet missed me by inches. I got away, and the bad guy got caught. The detective on my case advised me to learn how to shoot and become armed. Thank God I took his advice. During the hearings and the trial I was stalked and chased, and the rear window of my van was shot out. I stayed my ground and attended every hearing, making a victim's statement that essentially doubled my attacker's sentence. He's doing 5 to 10, with 5 years' probation to follow.