Indiana Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all!

My name's Steve, I'm 32, live in Porter County, and this is my first year attempting to harvest a deer. I got my 1 buck license, my gear, my information gathered, and am ready to hit it. I've been shooting a long time and love the outdoors, just haven't been hunting till now. I have wanted to a long time but I really don't know anyone to go with, so after a few years of watching videos, reading things, getting caught up on all the ins and outs, I'm gonna head out on my own. So I've got a few questions if you don't mind me throwing them all in here.

First, I have two options I'm thinking of for my hunt. My friend has a few acres with a tree stand - simple and ready to go. I can go park it there for a while and see what happens. The other option is I was thinking of going to Kingsbury Wildlife Area in La Porte County. I'd basically get out the map, plan a little route, take a harness to haul our the deer if I get one, and that'd be that.
So my questions here are - has anyone hunted in Kingsbury? Is it a good area? Second thing is, being this is my first time out, would it make more sense for me to try the simple tree stand in the back yard first, keep it simple, and then venture out farther next time? Does it matter?

I was also wondering if anyone had any good recommendations for deer processing places in the area. I am not to the point of knowledge yet where I'm gonna do it all myself. I'm gonna take it in. I know there's Jay's Deer Processing in Valpo, but anyone in this area have a favorite place they like?