close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Casting Reel Recommendation For BIG Pike

Discussion in 'Indiana Big Lake Fishing' started by Indy Archer, Mar 26, 2006.

1. I am in the market for a new reel - main reason is to get some beefier gear to fight some huge pike. Anyone have any favorite gear to recommend?

2. For big fish, dependable reel and fairly low cost....Abu Garcia 6500, can't beat 'em!

3. Indy.....I have an Abu Garcia Ambassadeur HPSS 4600C - Hank Parker Signature Series. I purchased it 2 years ago at Bass Pro Shops in Cincy. It came as a rod/reel combo. I paid like $89.00 or something like that for the combo. I used it last year in the Northwest Territory for "big pike". It has a 5.3:1 ratio and instant anti-reverse. It holds the following mono line: 10lbs/170yds, 12lbs/140yds, 14lbs/115yds. Obviously it will hold more of the smaller diameter braided line or whatever your preference is. I like it a lot and think it is a good real at a great price. As Quail said, you can't beat Abu Garcia for the prices.

treehugger

4. I have a couple of older Daiwa Procasters (5.2:1, 5BB, Infinite anti-reverse - not the same as the current Procaster 6+1) and an equally aged Shimano Curado. All of those are the lower profile design. I throw everything with those babies - Shad Raps, Zara Spooks, Jointed Believers, Spinners - you name it. I will take a look at those AG offerings - maybe one of those will be part of the gear that helps me pull in a 25+ lb fish....

5. Bass Pro Shops

SAVE Abu Garcia® Ambassadeur® C4 Reel and Extreme™ XPS™ Rod Combos

[​IMG][​IMG] [img]http://media.basspro.com/images/site/zoom.gif[/img] $174.94-$184.94 If Purchased Separately! Save $25

Reel features:
    • High-speed 6.3:1 gear ratio
    • 4 stainless steel bearings
    • Instant Anti-Reverse
    • Nonslip spool
    • Chemical nickel-coated levelwind system
    • 6-pin centrifugal brake
    • Carbon matrix drag
    Rod features: