close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

First time bow hunting on public land

Discussion in 'Indiana Bowhunting' started by danimal260, Sep 3, 2015.

1. Just wanted to get a few suggestions and ideas. I've inly been hunting a couple years and they've been on private land. Well, the guys grandkids are 14-15 so j pretty much lost my privileges. It was free so I appreciate him letting me hunt.

So anyway, I'm assuming it would be wise to take a day to head to some public land and scout. Can I get enough info in a day to maybe ascertain where deer may be traveling heaviest? Any suggestions are appreciated. Last 2 years have been very unlucky for me and I am hoping to harvest this year. Looking at going to Pigeon River and Roush during archery. Thanks in advance.

2. I have no experience with those areas, but yes, one day is plenty of time if you know what to look for. Do some homework before heading out and study topo maps and aerial photos to look for likely spots. Use your legs to verify what you see and for further study.

Pablo75 likes this.

3. Danimal I've been hunting Roush the last two years and have seen some deer there but no luck. Like you I just started hunting again the last two years. I did get my first last season over at salomonie, it's really nice over there. Study up on those maps like AaronS said. Also I'm trying something new this year to try and get away from other hunters. Using the river to my advantage. I bought an inflatable boat, just a little two man. It was only about 40 bucks off of amazon. My thought process is to get to those hard to reach places that no one else will try to go, plus I can get there a lot quiter.

4. I enjoy scouting public land precisely because I know I will be able to continue to hunt these areas in the future, unlike private land. It is one of the Irrefutable Laws of Hunting that if you do not own the private land you hunt on, it is only a matter of time before you will lose it.