close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Gun Recommendations for a rookie??

Discussion in 'Indiana Small Game Hunting' started by cjones46, Dec 14, 2006.

1. This is my first year hunting, I started out with whitetails but I'd like to venture into small game (rabbits and squirrels) as well. Any recommendations on a good gun, not a good starter necessarily, but a GOOD small game gun. I've heard the .22 vs .410 arguements each 100 times. What it really boils down to is finding a gun that I'm comfortable with that shoots well for me. If I can't find that it won't matter what kind of projectile I'm firing. Thanks guys!!!

2. it's hard to beat a remington rifle or shotgun for the money.

3. jones is currently using a borrowed H&R 20 Gauge...

sorry to step on your toes jones...

4. h&r 20ga is as good as you need 1 shot make it count

5. Actually marsh there is a H&R 20 gauge Ultra Slug Hunter II under my xmas tree right now...I know this because I went to buy one and my entire family erupted. Thanks for your help though. That gun may be a little much for a bunny. I dont know how big the rabbits are where you guys live but a 2 3/4 slug will be too much for the bunnies around here haha.

6. I've got a Rem 1187 20 guage for rabbits and love it. I just wish I could get em on the first shot.

7. I just bought a Stoeger 12ga. Model 2000 and love it. All it is is an American made Benelli M2, they have the exact same Inertia Driven Receiver. $450-$550.

8. 20 gauge 870 express - right barrel - great deer gun, long barrel anything else! Rugged and dependable :)

9. I've never heard anyone say anything negative about the 870 series in any gauge, ever. That seems to be the gun of choice around here. Thanks for the input guys, keep it coming!!!

10. start off right