close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Hunter Education Class Soon to be Online

Discussion in 'Indiana Outdoor News' started by ICOKnoy, Dec 21, 2005.

1. Soon everyone will be able to complete the Hunter Education Class online. The course will take between 6-8 hours. My understanding is the course itself is free but to complete it you must pass a test at the end. Upon taking the test a 15.00$ fee is assessed.(Yes if you fail you must again pay the 15.00$ fee) This course should be available sometime after the first of the year and can be accessed via links on the DNR website.

2. dnrlawman.....I am new to the sport and primarily bowhunt. Will this als be available archery only? thanks for any info.

oldrookie
    (bill reiman)

3. Sorry for the delay. The hunter ed. course is required before purchasing a license if you were born after Jan. 31, 1986. It is also required for some of the draw hunts held throughout the state. Even thought it is a good idea, if you do not fall into these two categories you are not required to take the course.

4. This is GREAT news!

The U.S. Sportsman Alliance and the NWTF did a study a year or so ago and found out that children that hunt supervised with their parent or another adult are already the safest group out there!

As a father of a 12 year old boy, I can tell you first hand, the current H.E. requirement is a big road block in recruiting new hunters. Without the recruitment of youth hunters, hunting will die a slow death.

My 12y/o son has 23 kids in his 6th grade class, he is the only child in that class that is H.E. certified. There are 3 boys that my son runs with here in the neighborhood, ALL 3 are chomping at the bits to go hunting, BUT they are from non-hunting families and do not have the certification, therefore it is difficult to introduce them to the sport of hunting.....AND that includes ALL types of hunting, not just deer hunting.