close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Lake County Winds

Discussion in 'Indiana Whitetail Hunting' started by hawk_driver, Jul 18, 2006.

1. Hey folks, I am working a strategy before I decide what farmer to ask permission to hunt his land. If I remember correctly, the prevailing winds up north (Portage area, right off of Lake Michigan) are normally out of the North / Northwest. Does anyone hunt up here, and if so, how do you go about setting up your pre-season stands?

Also, I will be setting up both stands for muzzlelooader and bow. How far do you muzzleloader shooters usually plan for your max shot. I am totally new to muzzloader this year, and a little guidance will be appreciated.

Thanks

Robert

2. I wouldnt put the cart before the horse here. Get the permission first and then decide how to hang your stands. In the fall the winds are going to blow in from the lake 95% of the time. I learned that playing college baseball in the area. (Its a great determinate of what kind of pitcher you want pitching that day)When we get a warm front they blow north to the lake. Its pretty straight forward. Plan on most of the winds in the fall being south-south east winds. For the muzzleloader stands i hunt my archery stands. If you are dead set on having separate stands I am lethal with my Remington ML700 out to 150 yards (thats all i am willing to shoot im sure it will do more but im not interested in that) but inside 75 is a gimme shot. So if you want to back off you can but with more stands in range for archery hunting you have more options during the best time of the year to hunt.

Like I said though get your permission first because i would hate to see you get all hyped up and then have a big let down if you cant get permission to hunt. Take care and let me know if you need anything else I'm in the Chesterton area.