close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Make your own rods?

Discussion in 'Indiana Ice Fishing' started by ice dude, Jul 11, 2005.

1. Iwas just wondering if anyone else makes their own ice fishing rods?

I have been making my own i ce rods for about 3 yrs now. I have made them from 12"- 30". These are the most sensitive felxible rods i have used. the long ones you can tye in a knot. i love my rods. the only problem i see with them is that when the wind blows it makes it hard to see your bite. That is why i had to buy a Fish Trap pro.

If anyone would like to make their own rods let me know and i could help you get started and give you a couple of tips i have learned. If you already make your own and would like to save a couple of $ on blanks, i am getting ready to place an order with Netcraft, so if you need a couple of blanks or cork handle material i can put it on my order, i will order around the middle of August.

I also make my own ice jigs and flies.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 11, 2005
  2. got me curious...send me a pic of some of the rods you have made....

3. i can do that i dont have a digital so i will have to get some film developed. when i do i will put the pics on here.

4. i too have been looking at building my own rods would like to know more .have been looking at cabelas have carbons blanks for 4.00 a peice from ul .to h . action rods.

5. i use fiberglass blanks and i make them ultra ultra ultra light. you cant work the carbon thin enough and still keep it strong enough to catch a 12" gill without it breaking. and if you dont make them soft enough you might as well use a bobber.
    i only pay around 2.50 for my blanks.
    if you plan on say jiggin bass or walleyes, the carbon blanks would be fine try like a medium - m-heavy, you will want about 1 eyelet every 6" or so. but i dont make stiff rods.

if you want more info send me a p.m.