close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

muzzel loader load and Rut questions

Discussion in 'Indiana Whitetail Hunting' started by mikeh, Nov 20, 2005.

1. Hi guys… this is my first post…

I am new to Indiana hunting. Live now in the Linton area, (SW Indiana about 45 miles SE of Tara Haute)

Being from the west I am accustom to still hunting mule dear in the New Mexico high plains with a 7MM rim mag. With average shot at much longer ranges than most Hoosiers would be comfortable with… No tree stands there home on the range….. ;) learning lots of new things… still trying to get the nurve to actualy climb a tree and hang a tree stand.... seeing lots of flags while trying to use old teck of still hunting...

I have three questions…. I hope you can help me with/:help:

1) New to muzzle loaders… I have a traditions 209 T-bolt inline…. Sighted it in at zero at 75 yards using 2 50 grain pirodex pellets. Seems to shoot great. Low recoil, about like a 20 gage… and I am impressed with its accuracy.

The question is… using Shock wave sabots…. The specs say I can use 3 parodex pellets safely, (150 grains) and that I would get better ballistics and range….load = (250 grain spire point shockwave 209 primer, 150 grains of pirodex) what deer I have seen so far (no safe good shot yet) have been at 50 yards or less… ) so I don’t think I will need a long range load but as the stooge said… Couldn’t hurt…:rolleyes:

do you old time smoke pole hunters think this is safe? How will it affect current sighting. Would I have to re-sight the rifle…. And is it true I could reasonably shoot out to 200 yards like the info claims…. With this mag load, or am I better off sticking with 2 pellets… (100 grains)

2) Is the Rut in process around the Dugger-Sullivan forest, when does it normally start and end.:confused: