close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

new guy needs help!@!

Discussion in 'Indiana Trapping and Varmint Hunting' started by mason34, Oct 12, 2006.

1. I am brand new to trapping and want to start out with coons. I want to use a foot hold trap, and my questions are what size and do you bait them and if so with what. also this is a stupid question but what meens do you use to kill them?????

2. If you are going with foot holds for coons I recomend a size 2. But if you are just starting out I would recomend using 220 conibears instead of footholds. Use a 5 gallon bucket and place bait inside of it and set it on its side. Then either cut wedges in the bucket so the 220 fits in, this way the coon has to go through the conibear to get into the bucket. You will have success with this more often then a foot hold trap. As for bait... I have used popcorn, let over meat, peanut butter, dog food... pretty much anything that has a smell that a coon would be attracted to. Good luck and I hope I helped. I'm sure there are other people on this site that have more knowledge about this.

3. Personally i haven't had much sucess with the footholds. like angler said go with the 220's in the bucket set, that way if u get a coon it will already be dead. Use extreme caution when setting 220's. I have always used a can of sardines, or canned dogfood. Good luck trapping. ;)

4. 1.5 coil spring leg hold traps. Dirt hole sets mainly.Sardines,fish,and you can buy different lures and baits from trapping supply companies..22 shot right at the ears to minamize fur damage. I have found that some of my best looking sets tend to catch plenty of possums and skunks ,so be ready to catch some.
    Make sure to boil and dye your traps to kill any foreign smells(I use walnuts). I haven't ever spent the time to wax my traps ,but some people prefer that. Handle your traps with rubber gloves as to not taint them.