close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New IN. Resident, Question on Regs?

Discussion in 'Indiana Whitetail Hunting' started by mgompf, Sep 22, 2006.

1. Hello all,
    I am a new Indiana resident and I am a little confused about something in the hunting Regs. I thought you guys would be able to help. The regs list this under the archery license ...

Type of License Limit​
    Archery License - One deer per license for a total of: 2 antlerless deer
    OR
    1 antlered deer and
    1 antlerless deer

Does this mean I need 2 archery licenses to take a buck and a doe or is 1 good for both?
    Sorry if this is a stupid question, I guess i am not used to the wording that the IN DNR uses.​
    I moved here from Ohio, there you needed your hunting License and Deer tags one for a buck and one for a doe.​
    Also do you have to use the Archery License befor you can use the bonus anterless tags?​

2. license

Archery licence gives you a limit of 1 antlered and 1 non or 2 nons

oldrookie

3. AN ARCHERY LICENSE HAS TO BE PURCHASED FOR EACH DEER KILLED. REMEMBER, YOUARE ONLY ALLOWED ONE BUCK PER SEASON, WITH ALL WEAPONS. IF YOU KILL ONE WITH YOUR BOW, YOU CANNOT SHOOT ANOTHER WITH YOUR SHOTGUN OR MUZZLELOADER LATER IN THE SEASON.

4. Welcome to the wonderful world of Indiana hunting and the not so wonderful world of Indiana's licensing system.

Indiana is a one buck only state. You have to understand this because if you read the season bag limits it seems to confuse some people.

That being said, in Indiana you get to buy two archery tags. Yes you have to buy one license for each deer. Your archery licenses may be used for either a buck and an antlerless or two antlerless. You may also buy bonus antlerless tags. You can use bonus tags whenever you choose, before your archery tags, after, or even in between them.