close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New To The Bow

Discussion in 'Indiana Bowhunting' started by JMBfishing2008, Oct 8, 2005.

1. im new to bowhunting this year and i was wondering if anyone had any tips on anything that has to do with bowhunting. I was really wondering what scent to use and what broadheads are worth my buck. I need help bad.:help: :bowdown:

2. I use Grim Reaper mechanicals, and have yet to not recover my deer with in sight. As far as scent, I'm more concerned about about being scent-free than using an attractant.

3. I use Rocky Mountain Snypers (mechanical). Though I haven't had the good fortume to see my deer drop in sight of me, even with a heart shot. Personnaly I do think mechanicals are the way to go for arrow flight. As for scent I agree with billkay on being scent-free, except when I am using a decoy.

MIDH

4. Mechanical

Mechanicals fly more true than do fixed blades. I recently switched after noticing my fixed blades were hitting about 8 inches from my field points. I don't know what kind of bow you have but i would recommend something small and fast. I shoot a G2 SL and love it.

5. I guess I'm part of the con side of the issue. I have had terrible results with mechanicals, poor penitration on impact, bad flight patterns, and they've never grouped as well for me on targets as my fixed blades. My vote would be the KISS method, keep it simple. Make sure your blades are true to the fletchings, and practice a lot!
    On scents, I agree, keep your cloths and body scent free as possible, and leave the gimmicky bottles on the store shelves.
    Good body scent control and a great cammo pattern are hard to beat.

6. I just bought some Dead Head 80's and they are fixed blades im going to go out this weekend. I also bought some Scent-away and i am going to see if that works i will have to try some mechanical broadheads. Thanks abunch and keep sending those tips.