close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

outfitting / clothing

Discussion in 'Indiana Bowhunting' started by oldrookie, Feb 10, 2006.

1. Guys...now is the time to stock up on new wear for next season. Go to your outfitter clothing is 60 cents on the dollar. My question to you all, being a newbie, I have the walmart mossy oak working for me, is the upper end clothing worth it? White water with scent control etc $300 uppers and lowers need 3 sets in between washes, lookin at $1000 in clothing. Then you get into scent containment boots, footware etc.

What is everyone happy with? Where do you draw the line? Looking to take advantage of the sales right now....but dont want to go over board.

oldrookie

2. I swear by Natural Gear! You just become a hole in the woods, invisable.

3. Have some fun...Newby!!!!!

Rookie, If you don't want to get into the carbon suits just yet, might I suggest just purchasing some new up to date sale items at Cabela's, etc. You can get away with just washing your gear (with scent killing detergents)and storing it in airtight containers (rubbermaid, etc.) that have leaves, cornstalks, bean stubble, whatever in them to help the laundered gear soak up natural odors. Still, the carbon suits are effective, but you don't necessarily HAVE to use them. Hunting with the wind is more important than anything you'll ever wear in the woods. Even the most anal retentive scent conscious hunters still hunt with the wind. Even with all of the precautions, deer will still pick you off from time to time...no matter how cautious you are. The most important piece of info. that I could give to a Newbie is to have a blast. Learning your quarry is part of the fun for a beginner. You might even purposefully "make mistakes" to see how deer respond to you. Let your scent get to some deer downwind so you'll appreciate those sniffers for what they really are. Hunt with the wind and have fun brother!!!!!