close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Southern Indiana Turkey

Discussion in 'Indiana Turkey Hunting' started by B&M, May 6, 2006.

1. Is anyone else having the same problem that I am. This morning I had 5 Toms gobbling in there roost. Then when they pitch down, they stopped gobbling. The Tom's do not show any interest in my calls. I have been hunting turkey's for about 8 years mainly in Kansas. I believe that the season starts to late in southern Indiana. It seems that the breeding is over. I have talked to several hunter from southern Indiana and they all feel the same way. Being new to Indiana maybe they should split the state and start the turkey season south of I-70 2 to 3 weeks early. North of I-70 keep the season the same.

2. Hate when that happens.....had same problem last weekend guy...get closer to the Roost if you can and call as soon as you see them fly down!!!!!

3. yes it is a problem. WHY? because the breeding season is winding down. some places more so than others. in my opinion which everybody has one indiana's season does come in awful late. ky's season comes in the 15th a full 11 days before indiana's. you basically get 0ne week of good turkey hunting before the season and turkeys turn quite once they hit the ground and won't respond to calls. i think the only chance is for a guy to take some bobble heads and decoys and just sit in a blind don't call or very sparingly and soft every once in awhile and get in a blind and wait them out. went to ky. this weekend and it's the same problem. they gobble on the roost and then fly down they go the other way. watched a tom in the middle of a field for 20 minutes all puffed out before we did some soft yelps then he came out of strut and walked the other way. killing a tom in late season is tough. season dates need to be around the 10th to the 15th.