close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Trail Cameras

Discussion in 'Indiana Whitetail Hunting' started by anon782010, Dec 31, 2006.

1. I'm seriously considering breaking down and spending the money on a trail camera, my biggest question going forward is, has anyone encountered any issues of spooked deer with the flash unit, do they get any more skittish with the flash, does it just depend on where they are getting flashed at?

2. the flash has been a question with the camera's for a while now. 2 yrs. ago i had a pic of a nice buck not long after day break and the next pic of him he was running away. i'm pretty sure it was the flash. but others it didn't seem to bother. i didn't use it much this year i still need to turn in the film. i think there is a time just at daybreak before it gets light but just enough darkness to make the flash still come on it might make the bucks jumpy but it doesn't appear to bother them at night. i'm no expert some of these other guys could probably provide you with more knowlege about it. i would recommend you getting a digital if you get one. my next one will be. if you have the time they are a hoot.

3. I was planning on going digital since i will just be using it on my home property and i could go switch out the memory card and have the results right away, so that is definitly the route I am planning on going, thanks scrape

4. trent let me know when you get that setup so I can stand in front of it waving my hands back and forth till the battery dies hahahaha. you know you'd love to have a memory full of my smiling face haha. I mean...let me know how that works for ya...

5. It totally depends on the deer. Some deer may some deer might not. A mature buck is obviously a lot more aware of his surroundings and get skiddish easily while a doe or young buck may pay no attention to it. So if your looking for a yes or no answer stop looking because there isnt one.