close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Turned Down Again

Discussion in 'Upland Game hunting, Dogs and dog training' started by cteders, Oct 17, 2006.

1. Does anyone know what the odds are of getting selected in one of the DNR's reserved pheasant hunts? I haven't hunted birds that long (2yrs) but I just received my "Sorry you were not picked again this year" letter from the DNR. Any advice on how to get selected or am I just unlucky?

2. ccavacini

ccavacini Super Mod Mod

I haven't been picked since '93. My cousin got picked this year so I'll have at least one day of hunting there.

3. This Is My First Try And I Got Picked For Nov. 10th , Just Have To Be Lucky!!!!!

4. I believe the program is about 25 years old and i have applied every year. I have been drawn one time. Fortunately I have a lot of friends who drag me along when they get drawn so I've actually been 6 times in 25 years. It can be the best hunting you will ever see in Indiana.

Jack

5. Who do you have to sleep with to get pick for any hunt in this state.:banghead3

6. ccavacini

ccavacini Super Mod Mod

We suggested to the DNR if you get picked one year, you have to sit out the next...that would allow more people to get in on the draws (some people seem to get picked every year)....with the computer system they have now, they could kick out the winners for the next year.

As Jack said, you'll never see as many birds...problem is, when one goes up, 50-100 will go up, so be careful how you hunt these properties.

Quiet.