close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

What's your Latest Deer story?

Discussion in 'Indiana Whitetail Hunting' started by tersuesar, Sep 22, 2005.

1. I have hopes that this will be are largest post.
    I'll start it off. November 13, 2004
    Here's the story:
    I have been hunting this place for 3 years now, and have not harvested a deer from there yet. I have seen deer there, some pretty big. This Saturday (opening day) that all changed. In at 5:30 I was sitting on a ridge that overlooked a knarley area of sticker trees with a dried out creekbottom. I used my last Deerscent sticks and placed them about 30 yds in front of me. At 6:00 I seen a light, a hunter comming accross the field 150 yds in front of me.
    I could hear Deer running around me but it was still dark out.
    Between 6:30 and 7:30 I heard a few gunshots and hoped that someone was going to score. At 7:45 or so, I decided to look out my scope so i aimed it over at some toilet paper marker that I left there. I saw a deer tail moving at a fast pace at about 50 yds. It was going south. (The wind was blowing out of the east and I was facing west,carrying my scent into the woods but I was wearing a Chemical suit.) ?I had no shot, so I used my doe call a couple of times and within a couple of miniutes, here comes this buck nose toward the ground, in love. He was closing in on the scent sticks when I got an opening to shoot.
    I launched a 125 gn. Nosler ballistic tip from my .308 striker and hit him at 30 yds., just above the heart. He ran/staggered for about 15 yds. more, and piled up in plain view. When I field dressed him, his liver was totally destroyed. That bullet didn't lose much of it's 2800 fps!
    On the way back to get the truck, I saw a doe in the field. She was just sitting there watching me. As I passed through the field again she she was still there.